Category: Community Games Rounders

Wexford Community Games U-14 Rounders League 1983

Standings as at 17 June 1983

Girls U-14 Rounders LeaguePWLRFRAPts
Glynn/Barntown Greens440113238
Glynn/Barntown Whites440118558
Piercetown (SF)32187774
Ballygarrett (SF)42267814
Clongeen (D2)41333922
Taghmon (D2)404671320
Enniscorthy #404??0
[References: 1]

Note: # Enniscorthy excluded after two games due to fielding girls from outside the parish. Other teams awarded walkover victory in remaining games when scheduled to meet.

Legend: (SF) = Qualify for Division 1 Semi-Finals. (D2) Qualify for Division 2 Final.


Division 2 Final
10.07.1983Piercetown17Glynn/Barntown Whites12
10.07.1983Glynn/Barntown Greens21Ballygarrett20
Division 1 Final
10.07.1983Piercetown28Glynn/Barntown Greens3
[References: 2]


Piercetown 28: Aillen Quirke (4), Sinead Codd (4), Majella Coffey (4), Sara Nolan (4), Katherine Miller (4), Mary Murray (3), Janette McLeish (1), Marrie Codd (3), Karen Fitzpatrick (1), Keara Masterson, Aisling Fitzpatrick.

Glynn/Barntown 3: Fiona Broadberry (1), Debbie Doyle (1), Kellie Brown (1), Louise Jones, Keara Cooney, Siobhan Moloney, Lisa Morrissey, Eilish Roche, Alma Sexton, Niamh Tyrrell.


Piercetown Bowler Aileen Quirke gave Glynn/Barntown Greens very little scope and this combined with excellent fielding limited the Greens to just 3 runs in the Wexford Community Games U-14 Girls Rounders Final. Piercetown won with a total of 28 runs to 3, with five girls scoring 4 runs each. Piercetown qualified for the Leinster Championship with this win.



[1] Anon. (1983) “Girls Rounders League Report” New Ross Standard Friday, July 15, 1983. Pg. 22.

[2] Anon. (1983) “Piercetown win U-14 Rounders title” New Ross Standard Friday, July 15, 1983. Pg. 22.


Thanks to Fiona Corrigan

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball GAA World Archive

Last Updated: 8 February 2021

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2021

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.